Sacramento Metropolitan Air Quality Management District (SMAQMD)

California’s ambient air quality standards classified Sacramento Metro as nonattainment for ozone and PM10 which includes the following for the Federal Sacramento nonattainment Area: Sacramento County, Yolo County as well as parts of El Dorado County, Placer County, Solano County, and Sutter County. The State Sacramento nonattainment area also includes Butte County, Colusa, Glenn, Tehama and Shasta Counties as well as parts of Sutter County and Yolo County.
Butte County is nonattainment for PM2.5. EPA designates the Sacramento Metro as severe nonattainment for ozone while some parts were designated as nonattainment for PM2.5.

ERCs are available for four different pollutants:

Pollutant Significant Emission Rates
Nitrogen oxides (NOx) >25 tons/year
Reactive organic gases (ROG) >25 tons/year
Carbon monoxide (CO) >25 tons/year
PM10 >25 tons/year

To satisfy offset requirements, new or modified major facilities in nonattainment areas must obtain ERCs to satisfy the offset ratio requirements for proposed emission increases. The offset ratios for severe nonattainment area for ozone is 1.3. That means if 100 tpy of VOCs are emitted from a proposed new or modified major facility in Sacramento Metropolitan, the facility must obtain 130 tpy of ERCs to offset the increase in VOC emissions.

Emission Advisors assists clients in tackling challenges in the environmental markets. Please contact Emission Advisors to discuss your specific needs and how we can help.​