Ohio Environmental Protection Agency (OEPA)

Federal EPA designated the counties of Butler, Clermont, Hamilton, Warren, Cuyahoga, Geauga, Lake, Lorain, Medina, Portage, Summit, Delaware, Fairfield, Franklin, and Licking as marginal nonattainment for ozone.

For PM10, Cuyahoga County, Mingo Junction and parts of Jefferson County are in moderate maintenance. However, Cuyahoga and Lorain Counties are classified as moderate nonattainment for PM2.5.

For SO2, Lake County, parts of Morgan County, Center Township, parts of Washington County, Waterford Township and parts of Jefferson County are nonattainment for SO2.

ERCs are available for seven different pollutants.​

Pollutant Significant Emission Rates
Nitrogen oxides (NOx) >40 tons/year
Volatile organic compounds (VOC) >25 tons/year
Sulfur dioxide (SO2) >40 tons/year
Carbon monoxide (CO) >100 tons/year
PM10 >15 tons/year
PM2.5 >10 tons/year
Lead (Pb) >5 tons/year

New or modified major facilities in nonattainment areas must obtain ERCs to satisfy the offset ratio requirements for proposed emission increases. The offset ratios for marginal nonattainment area for ozone is 1.1 to 1. That means if 100 tpy of VOCs are emitted from a proposed new or modified major facility in the above-mentioned counties classified as marginal nonattainment for ozone, the facility must obtain 110 tpy of ERCs to offset the increase in VOC emissions. On the other hand, offset ration for a moderate nonattainment area for PM2.5 is 1.15. Thus, for 100 tpy of PM2.5 emitted from a proposed new or modified major facility in Cuyahoga and Lorain Counties, the facility must obtain 115 tpy of ERCs to offset the increase in PM2.5 emissions.

Emission Advisors assists clients in tackling challenges in the environmental markets. Please contact Emission Advisors to discuss your specific needs and how we can help.​