Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (CDEEP)

EPA designated the counties of Hartford, Litchfield, New London, Tolland, and Windham in Greater Connecticut as well as Fairfield, Middlesex and New Haven Counties in New York- N. New Jersey-Long Island (NY-NJ-CT) as moderate nonattainment for ozone. In addition, portions of New Haven County and the city of New Haven were designated as moderate maintenance for PM10.

Emission reduction credits from facility shutdowns are considered as continuous ERCs or CERCs, while emission reduction credits achieved by reducing emissions at an existing facility are considered as discrete ERCs or DERCs.

ERCs are available for NOx and VOC.​

Pollutant Significant Emission Rates
Nitrogen oxides (NOx) >40 tons/year
Volatile organic compounds (VOC) >25 tons/year

To satisfy offset requirements, new or modified major facilities in nonattainment areas must obtain ERCs for proposed emission increases. The offset ratio for moderate nonattainment area for ozone is 1.15. That means if 100 tpy of VOCs are emitted from a proposed new or modified major facility located in Greater Connecticut or NY-NJ-CT, classified as moderate nonattainment areas, the facility must obtain 110 tpy of ERCs to offset the increase in VOC emissions.

Emission Advisors assists clients in tackling challenges in the environmental markets. Please contact Emission Advisors to discuss your specific needs and how we can help.​