Bay Area Air Quality Management District (BAAQMD)

California’s ambient air quality standards classified Bay Area as nonattainment for ozone, PM2.5 and PM10. EPA designated the county as marginal nonattainment for ozone. Marginal nonattainment areas include counties of Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, parts of Solano, and parts of Sonoma.

ERCs are available for five different pollutants:

Pollutant Significant Emission Rates
Nitrogen oxides (NOx) >10 tons/year
Reactive organic gases (ROG) >10 tons/year
GHGs >10,000 MT/year
PM10 >15 tons/year
PM2.5 >10 tons/year

To satisfy offset requirements, new or modified major facilities in nonattainment areas must obtain ERCs to satisfy the offset ratio requirements for proposed emission increases. The offset ratios for marginal nonattainment area for ozone is 1.1. That means if 100 tpy of VOCs are emitted from a proposed new or modified major facility in the above-mentioned counties classified as marginal nonattainment for ozone, the facility must obtain 110 tpy of ERCs to offset the increase in VOC emissions.

Emission Advisors assists clients in tackling challenges in the environmental markets. Please contact Emission Advisors to discuss your specific needs and how we can help.​